Goodreads Scraper avatar
Goodreads Scraper
Try for free

3 days trial then $15.00/month - No credit card required now

View all Actors
Goodreads Scraper

Goodreads Scraper

epctex/goodreads-scraper
Try for free

3 days trial then $15.00/month - No credit card required now

Scrape goodreads.com for data on millions of books. Crawl book details for images, ISBN, author, description, title, buy links, number of reviews, page number, language, and all other details. You can specify search terms, filters, and much more.

TL

Actor not working

Closed

Tristan_Leperlier opened this issue
a year ago

Hi Tugkan, did you receive my messages? The actor is still not working on those runs, either saying "There was an uncaught exception during the run of the actor and it was not handled" or saying "succeeded" but returning just one line.

https://console.apify.com/view/runs/xpWWScAbH81z3bq4y https://console.apify.com/view/runs/4cGXlGfcv9e1rjgWx

Can you please fix it? Best, Tristan

TU

tugkan

a year ago

Hey there Tristan Leperlier!

Sorry for the late response. It seems like there were some problems with the email notification system about your previous messages. We checked the problem you mentioned and this problem is happening mostly because of Apify's infrastructure doesn't allow us to pass big chunks of data. However, we found a way to adapt our public actor to retrieve this data. Can you please check out the latest version of the public actor and let us know if everything is working properly?

Best

TL

Tristan_Leperlier

a year ago

Hi Tugkan, thank you for your response. Unfortunatly this is still not working. https://console.apify.com/view/runs/sZJCURjka7b8JeTMq still doesn't work. I read that Goodreads allows 300 reviews, and that the way to scrap more is to change the filters (https://github.com/maria-antoniak/goodreads-scraper): maybe a reason why it doesn't work? But https://console.apify.com/view/runs/VlkCXd68G9IWrKeYU doesn't work either, although it has few data. It doesn't return anything except in JASON. Maybe an issue with Arabic? Thank you for getting back to me at tour earliest convenience. Best, Tristan https://console.apify.com/view/runs/BVwXO65zezRWmcDtY has very few data, but still returns

TU

tugkan

a year ago

Hey Tristian Leperlier,

In this run (https://console.apify.com/view/runs/sZJCURjka7b8JeTMq) I can see that the reviews have already been added to the JSON result. So my question is; are you looking for each review to be a separate row rather than included inside a JSON object - or are the total reviews that have been extracted lower than your expectation? Maybe there is something that we might lost on the communication.

Best

TL

Tristan_Leperlier

a year ago

Hi Tugkan, thank you for that ! Both runs return results only in JSON, but not in another format. I would like indeed to have each review as a separate row (on Excel). Can you fix that export issue? Thank you ! Best, Tristan

TU

tugkan

a year ago

Hey Tristan,

It is sample data but do you think this format will be okay for you? https://api.apify.com/v2/datasets/MUYiUUrIycPhMv2VA/items?attachment=true&clean=true&format=xlsx

Best

TL

Tristan_Leperlier

a year ago

Hi Tugkan, this would be great ! Thanks ! T

TU

tugkan

a year ago

Hey Tristan,

We've integrated into the actor a new option called customMapFunction. This option allows you to manipulate the output within your needs. In the sample run, we ran the actor with that option and used the following parameter: (object) => object.reviews. This will allow you to extract only reviews and use each of the reviews as a separate row. So for your future runs, you can use this and retrieve the same format that I sent you. For the reference, this is the sample run: https://console.apify.com/view/runs/frgm3JaX3mWGJZfNz

Please let us know if you need anything else. Best

Developer
Maintained by Community
Actor metrics
  • 5 monthly users
  • 2 stars
  • 100.0% runs succeeded
  • Created in Mar 2021
  • Modified about 9 hours ago